New Horizons in Materials Design

New Horizons in Materials Design

17. - 18. August 2023
Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung

The workshop will bring together leading scientist from both theory and experiment to review the status and evaluate future opportunities regarding theory led design of materials to address the challenges of the 21st century. 

This workshop addresses all aspects of modern computer-guided materials design - advanced multiscale computational and experimental approaches, machine learning, big data analysis, and automated workflow concepts - highlighting breakthroughs in materials ranging from metals, semiconductors, and catalysts to biology. It will be held at the Max-Planck-Institut in Düsseldorf and features invited talks only. Contributions for posters are strongly encouraged to foster lively discussions. 

We are looking forward to the presentations of the following invited speakers

  • Igor Abrikosov (Linköping University, Sweden)
  • Gábor Csányi (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Ralf Drautz (Ruhr-University-Bochum, Germany)
  • Mike Finnis (Imperial College London, UK)
  • Peter Fratzl (Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany)
  • Martin Friák (The Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic)
  • Blazej Grabowski (Stuttgart University, Germany)
  • Axel Gross (Ulm University, Germany)
  • Peter Gumbsch (Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials, Freiburg, Germany)
  • Richard Hennig ( University of Florida, Gainesville, USA)
  • Tilmann Hickel (MPIE & BAM, Germany)
  • Sandra Korte-Kerzel (RWTH Aachen, Germany)
  • Georg Kresse (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Erwin Laure (Max-Planck Computing & Data Facility, Germany)
  • Liverios Lymperakis (University of Crete, Greece)
  • Karsten Reuter (Fritz-Haber-Institut of the Max-Planck-Society, Germany)
  • Gabrielle Sadowski (Technical University Dortmund, Germany)
  • Christina Scheu (MPIE, Germany)
  • Wolf-Gero Schmidt (University of Paderborn, Germany)
  • Dallas Trinkle (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Kristina Tschulik (Ruhr-University-Bochum, Germany)
  • Chris van der Walle (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Stefan Wippermann (Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany)
Go to Editor View