Scientific Advisory Board

The scientific advisory board is the scientific evaluation panel of the Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH (MPIE). The main task of the advisory board is the regular evaluation of the institute’s research. Based on this evaluation, the board advises the institute’s management of an innovative development of its research projects and ways of efficient resources' input.

The MPIE is structured as a public private partnership – this structure requires a link between basic research on the one hand and technological relevance on the other hand. This link is also found in the evaluation rules and composition of the scientific advisory board, which consists of internationally well-known scientists from Germany and abroad as well as representatives of industry with experience in research and development.

The MPIE is evaluated every three years. Moreover, every six years an extended evaluation that involves two additional members of the advisory board, takes place. During this extended evaluation all Max Planck Institutes which work in the field of materials sciences are compared with each other. This comparative evaluation serves for planning the further scientific development and the resources' input of the institutes.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Board:

Prof. Dr. Julie Cairney, The University of Sydney, Sydney Camperdown, Australia

Prof. Dr. Fionn Dunne, Imperial College London, London, UK

Prof. Dr. Peter Gumbsch, Fraunhofer Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWM, Freiburg, Germany

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Jäger, Christian‐Albrechts‐University (CAU) zu Kiel, Kiel, Germany

Prof. Dr. Michael John Mills, Ohio State University, Columbus, USA

Prof. Dr. Eva Olsson, Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden

Prof. Dr. George Pharr, Texas A&M University, College Station, USA

Prof. Dr. Mary P. Ryan, Imperial College London, London, UK

Dr. André Schneider, Vallourec Deutschland GmbH, Düsseldorf, Germany

Prof. Dr. Christopher A. Schuh, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, USA

Prof. Dr. Herman Terryn, Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB), Brüssel, Belgium

Go to Editor View