Prof. Dierk Raabe and Dr. Michael Herbig won the AIME Champion H. Mathewson Award 2018

January 17, 2018

Professor Dierk Raabe, director of the MPIE and head of the department “Microstructure Physics and Alloy Design”, and Doctor Michael Herbig, leader of the group “Materials Science of Mechanical Contacts”, were awarded with the AIME Champion H. Mathewson Award 2018 by The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) for their paper on “Autonomous Filling of Grain-Boundary Cavaties during Creep Loading in Fe-Mo Alloys“.

Together with their co-authors, Raabe and Herbig focused on steel that can self-heal from creep damage at high temperatures. This research can be of great value e.g. in the design of new materials for different types of turbines.

The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society connects scientists and engineers of this field who work in industry, academia, and government positions around the world. The TMS-AIME Mathewson Award recognizes papers which contribute significantly to scientific findings in the area of metallic materials.

Zhang, S.; Fang, H.; Gramsma, M. E.; Kwakernaak, K.; Sloof, W.; Tichelaar, F. D.; Kuzmina, M.; Herbig, M.; Raabe, D.; Brück, E. et al.; van der Zwaag, S.; van Dijk, N.: Autonomous Filling of Grain-Boundary Cavities during Creep Loading in Fe–Mo Alloys. Metallurgical and Materials Transactions a-Physical Metallurgy and Materials Science 47 (10), pp. 4831 - 4844 (2016)
Go to Editor View