Dr. Frank Stein wins Best Paper Award

Study about phase diagrams convinces award committee

July 19, 2016

Dr. Frank Stein, head of the group “Intermetallic Materials“ in the department “Structure and Nano-/Micromechanics of Materials“, won together with his co-authors Cuiyun He, Oleg Prymak, Simon Voß and Irina Wossack the Best Paper Award of the Alloy Phase Diagram International Commission for the year 2015. Their paper is about phase equilibria and solidification behaviour in the iron-aluminum-niobium system and was published in Intermetallics.

Prof. Rainer Schmid-Fetzer, head of the group “Thermochemistry & Microkinetics” at the Clausthal University of Technology and chair of the award committee, handed the award over to Stein during a short ceremony at the Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung on Monday, 18th July 2016. The award is endowed with 500 US dollars.

Šlapáková, M.; Stein, F.; Liebscher, C.; Voß, S.; Kumar, S.: TEM Analysis of Deformation Structure in Fe2Nb Laves Phase. Seminar on Metal Materials, Prague, Czech Republic (2016)
Go to Editor View